Incredible and unforgettable books: The Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon

Cover of "Outlander"

Cover of Outlander

For the past number of months I have been reading the Outlander series of books by Diana Gabaldon and I just can’t get enough. All of the books are hard to put down and once you finish one you can’t help but dive right into the next one.

The Outlander series consists of the following books and it is suggested that you read them in order as they follow a story through chronological order.

  • Outlander
  • Dragonfly in Amber
  • Voyager
  • Drums of Autumn
  • The Fiery Cross
  • A Breath of Snow and Ashes
  • An Echo In The Bone
  • Written In My Own Heart’s Blood: Will be released in early 2013.

I’m currently in the middle of reading Drums of Autumn which is the fourth book in the series. The books are incredibly well written and the character’s that Gabaldon has developed are unforgettable. The books are about love, hate, family, adventure, fantasy, war, violence, romance, revenge, death and struggle and they are all set within the context of historical fiction. There is so much that happens in each book that the list above hardly does justice to everything that takes place.

I have completely fallen in love with the main character Jamie Fraser who is a Scottish Highlander from the 1700’s.  He is a burly masculine man who will do anything to protect those he loves. His strength and loyal character will leave you wanting a Jamie Fraser in your own life.

Don’t get me wrong, these books are not just a love story.  They are built upon historical fact which makes them even more interesting. I have learned so much about 18th century Scotland, England and the American Colonies as well as the wars, the leaders of the time and day-to-day life back then. I love that I’m continually learning something new without actually feeling like I’m learning.

I am a huge book-worm and I have to say that these are some of the best books I have read.  It is certainly one of the best series that I have read.  I can hardly wait to plow through the remainder of the series although I’m worried that I will be left wanting more.

I definitely recommend this series. You will not be disappointed.

You can read more about her books at: http://www.dianagabaldon.com/writing/the-outlander/

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Incredible and unforgettable books: The Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon

  1. Lauren says:

    I am trying to read them slower because I never want to be finished the series 🙂 He is the only man for me!
    2 hours ago · Like

  2. Pingback: book warm « myDailyFeels

  3. sandra says:

    after you have finished Outlander read the Lord John series also by Diana Gabaldon, these are spin off books takes place after Voyager also The Scottish Prisoner, is written in 2 persons, part Jamies, part Lord John, gives insight into their friendship. Diana had also written Outlander Companion, this covers the 1st 4 books, gives Gaelic definitions and lots of other useful anedotes

  4. Shawn Bird says:

    lol I can relate! I discovered Diana Gabaldon in October and I’m on the fifth re-read (some audio re-tellings) since that time. Just started Echo in the Bone. I’ve gotten my husband into the books, and as he’s coming to the end of Voyager, he keeps asking me questions- without wanting any spoiler answers. I even made him a kilt! Still trying to get him to wear it though. 😉 I regularly am pondering something I’ve learned from Diana on my blog. Feel free to visit! (Here are the Diana ones: http://shawnbird.com/?s=diana+gabaldon Click “projects” to see the kilt develop). I wish I could listen to her books while I’m writing, I’ve gotten hopelessly behind on my own work, and it’s all her fault! ;-P

  5. Pingback: I Want To Cheat. . . « The Tiger's Eye

Leave a Reply

