Favourite kids shows from the 80’s

Now that we have a 6 month old baby we are starting to watch cartoons and kids shows again. It is interesting to see that a few shows from when we were little have survived the test of time. The classics such as Sesame Street, Scooby Doo and Thomas the Train are still on and are pretty close to being the same as 25 years ago.

Some of the new shows and cartoons we have been watching are great but it also made my husband and I think back to our favourite shows that we watched when we were growing up. I’m sure the graphics and animation would look terrible if we watched them now but they sure were good back then.

We came up with a list of our favourite shows that we use to watch when we were kids. As we went through them it is incredible that we still remember so many of the theme songs. Obviously cartoons are a very important part of childhood and they create memories that stick with you for a very long time.

Let us know if we missed any of your favourites.

1. Kidstreet– My sister and I played this game all the time. I would send her out of the room and then bring her back to see if we could get matching answers.  Then when we got it right we would clap above our heads like they did on the show.

2.  Thundercats- This was my husband’s absolute favourite cartoon. Even when talking about it he raised his hands above his head like Liono and pretended to hold a sword as he chanted “thundercats, thundercats, thundercats, hoooo”!

3. Jem and the Holograms- Now this was one of my favorites and I clearly remember on my first day of Kindergarten we were asked to sing the theme song from our favourite show. I belted out “Jem… Jem is truly outrageous. Truly, truly, truly outrageous Woo ooo Jem… Jem the music’s contagious.” I even remember getting Jem blue and pink eye shadow and loading it on my eyes.

4. Fun House– This was my absolutely favourite gameshow and I always wanted to be a contestant. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YPJCwGfnom4

5. The Raccoons- Cyril Sneer,Cedric, Bert, Melissa and Ralph Raccoon

6. Denver the last Dinosaur- “Denver the last Dinosaur, he’s your friend and a whole lot more”

7. My Pet Monster- “My pet monster on him I can depend”

8. Care Bears- “Whose that coming from somewhere up in the sky”

9. Chip and Dale Rescue Rangers- “Chip, Chip, Chip, Chip and Dale Rescue Rangers”

10. Hercules- This was on every morning at 6:30am before I went to school

11. Darkwing Duck- “If there’s trouble I”ll call D.W.”

12. Captain Planet and the Planeteers- “Earth, Fire, Wind, Water, Heart!”

13. Astro Boy

14. Transformers- “More than meets the eye”

15. G.I. Joe- “And knowing is half the battle”

16. Fraggle Rock- “Dance your cares away, worries for another day”

17. Duck Tales

18. The Popples- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MpKaGrmSQLk

19. Rainbow Brite

20. He-man- “By the power of Grayskull” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7yeA7a0uS3A

21. Belle and Sebastien

22. Muppet Babies

23.  Beetlejuice

24. C.O.P.S.- “Fighting crime in the future time”

25. Ghostbusters- “Who ya gonna call?”

26. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles- “Heroes in a half-shell; Turtle power!”

27. Dennis the Menace- “Hey Mr. Wilson….”

28. Ewoks

29. Garfield and friends

30. Teddy Ruxpin- “Come dream with me tonight” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gyHqj5lunuU

31. Super Marios Brothers

32. My Little Pony- “My little pony princess pony”

33. Punky Brewster

34. Pound Puppies

35. Smurfs-“lala   la la la la,  la la la la la”

36.  Video Arcade Top 10

37. You can’t do that on television

38. Inspector Gadet-Penny, Brain, Dr. Claw and MAD Cat-“this message will self-destruct”

39. Bravestarr- http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=endscreen&v=NqwzTipInnE&NR=1

40. Gummi Bears

This entry was posted in Parenting Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

